English - Other Codes Prior to UEB Flag of the United Kingdom Flag of Australia Flag of New Zealand Flag of Canada Flag of the United States

English is the principal language of the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and the United States. English is also the official language of Liberia, Namibia, Sierra Leone, and Zambia.

The Duxbury Braille Translator pre-dates the Unification of the English Braille code. It has multiple braille templates that support the earlier versions of English Braille.

Here is the list of the pre-UEB templates previously used in the United Kingdom:

The United Kingdom also makes some minor use of a non-braille tactile alphabet called Moon Transcription. There are two templates for this system:

Here is the list of the pre-UEB templates formerly used in the United States:

A link to the details for the relevant DBT translator can be found in the description of each template.

For information on the DBT templates for Unified English Braille, see English - UEB.

Contracted Braille

English is usually produced in contracted braille. This means that words are not produced in braille on a one-for-one basis. There are abbreviations or contractions in the text. If you have questions about how braille is produced, please contact a member of the relevant braille authority.

Sometimes, you may want to produce uncontracted braille. This is easy to do with DBT. The shortcut for this is to go to the top of the document and press Alt+1. When you translate into braille, the braille will be uncontracted.